Saturday Night

I am sat with my new friend: the Google Nexus 7. Daddy Bear. Baby Bear (the Nexus One) remans for another year and will log routes via MyTracks; the replacement Samsung Galaxy S3 is being returned. Unimpressed.

There’s something to be said about a Saturday evening ride, especially when you are at the pivotal point of six weeks holiday.  At 7.30-fish I was out, looking forward to a good run, and banking on an evening of TLC for the bike being applied between bouts of academic reading.  And Monday’s ride could be a big one. And a late one.

Tonight’s playlist saw Numan’s ‘Replicas Live 2008’, http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Replicas_Live which arrived today very promptly from Townsend Records (a great team), and I gourged on CD1, saving some for ‘afters’. Jack Campbel’s third series and Tech News Today alternated as I took in Balrossie, Pomillan, Chapel Farm and Devol Road. Oh, and a kind motorist slowed, thinking I was in difficulty at the base of Kilkochries – many thanks.

I am contemplating Lochwinnoch via my old friend the singletrack leading from Hardridge Farm to Clydemuirshiel… Monday evening.

Every time I pass Knockbuckle Bridge I cannot shake the recent memories being constructed in and around my son’s development: we go there, equipped with stabilisers and imagination; we explore the stream, the bridge, wade through the long grass and mount the scattered logs… pleasures.

But I am growing impatient at owners who continue to allow their dogs to wander ‘off leash’ – of which I continue to remind them.

25K. Oh, and I’ve gone from 11st 9lbs…to 11st 2lbs – half a stone in a couple of weeks shed!  My tyres will be happier.

Leave a Reply

