First for 2013

Ah, nothing like it… Health.

IMG_20130113_154236

Christmas and New Year were ruined by some viral infection which brought everything except for the kitchen sink (and the vomiting)… In addition my brother-in-law lost his mother to cancer on Christmas Day (so we put on a Christmas Dinner for them yesterday).

But thank goodness for Amoxycillan! A couple of these 500mg babies and it’s night and day. (Course finishes tomorrow).

IMG_20130101_155329Despite the ‘weather warnings’, the snow failed to pound us and after a couple of minutes uphill I thought it folly to be wearing my new balaclava from The Hot Stuff Co. (Amazon.co.uk). And only 7.99 (9.74 delivered – and vacuum packed!).

Yes, you worry about the purchase that the helmet will have with your skull…but I was snug indeed. Slightly warm; the long neck prevents fully zipping up of your outer layer; it pushed down on my specs.  But my ears – jammed with earphones – and cheeks were well sheltered.  Waterproof, but I had no chance to assess the manufacturer’s claim.  All in all lovely purchase – even if I am thinking about having part of the neck sliced off so that I can ‘zip’ higher.

IMG_20130101_155736

And the Luminite overshoes from Endura? Initially I was worried that I didn’t buy tye ‘XL’, but the ‘L’ are snug and did the trick – even though I deliberately avoided Devol Road singletrack after a lovely shimmy up Chapel Farm, over to the Devol Electricity Substation then down past Harelaw 1 & 2.

Home. Dry as a bone…except for my saddle area: now I think that it is time to replace the Sprayaway trousers.

22K in 1.31. Not bad for a Lazarus who gorged on two reenacted Christmas Dinners yesterday (and cake) – but still 10st 9lbs.

The weekend began with am excellent evening at Clydemuirshiel for a Stargazing Event – even though it was cloudy – was well attended and we caught the tail-end of an audiovisual lecture; Cameron performed well at his first Level 3 swimming lesson; I picked up some nice texts at the library; read the paper; and spent much of my time with the family.

Yes, my New Year Resolution to relegate work well below maintaining my physical and emotional well-being is certainly steadfast!

IMG_20130113_152635

Happy (and a healthy) 2013.

 

Leave a Reply

