2014 Faith

Below is a bespoke Seven Sorrows (or Joys) of Mary chaplet, made of olive wood from The Holy Land, and from a fantastic e-bay crafts-person, rosebead_04.
image

The beautiful blue Miraculous Medal was from raining_roses – another wonderful US-based seller on eBay.  I use this devotion from Sunday to Friday.

A birthday gift, here we have a brass and ebony Rosary bracelet below from Sam’s Rosaries ( http://www.samsrosaries.co.uk).

image

Lightweight yet reassuringly built to last, it is applied to my left wrist and I find that it is a constant reminder of the Mysteries that we should hold dear to our hearts as they remind us of Our Lord’s Journey for us.

Not simply jewellery, these are visual and physical symbols of prayer and thanksgiving…

My ‘Catholic Return’ continues to burn brightly.

Each night my son and I pray one Our Father, Hail Mary and a Glory Be for three Mysteries (two on a Saturday): Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful and Glorious. 

That quiet time of reverence may come after a difficult day; it may come after a long and happy day. But it is when he sees his father physically and orally divest authority to a higher entity – and that is important: for him to acknowledge that there is something greater than all of us, yet is unrevealed, is what I am striving to instill.  (I was previously a Sunday Catholic. It is an oxymoronic term – an in itself a paradox. I find myself introspecting upon my faith almost every minute of the day; every action is considered in light of my faith – this is the only way to *be* Catholic).

That we thank God for what we have; that we pray also for those in need and who are suffering.  Child-like, perhaps, but a distillation as Jesus himself did when he asserted that a love of God and for each other are the essential aspects of The Ten Commandments.

Now, I wonder if there’s a special Rosary bracelet or bead set that could be custom-made to fit the bike…

Leave a Reply

