Reunions

image

On Saturday evening I, and my very close friends of over 28 years, shall be attending the ‘Hop Reunion’, a return to a youth club in the heart of the east end of Greenock.  My attendance at the aforementioned was somewhat fragmented in my latter teenage years, but I’ll never forget growing up across from this imposing building.  Over three levels, the coloured disco lights and strains of ‘Louie Louie’ and Chris Montez’s ‘Let’s Dance’ – marking the Mod-Revival – were both seen and heard through our cheap nylon 70s curtains.  We are talking about an era where my father would use candles to melt the ice that would congeal between the space between the iron window frames.

So tonight, spotting an empty ‘Breaker’ lager can on the B788 brought Saturday evening into full relief.

Saturdays are: swimming lessons, library, grandmother visit…bike ride (if I’m lucky).

Leave a Reply

