Arrival(s); departure(s)

My daughter, Penny was born at 5.45 pm on the 28th October 2014. And God Bless my Aunt Susan who died at 11 pm the following Friday…

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The Hardrock has been in Halfords for over two weeks now: I received a litany of repairs amounting to 159 GPB – and I only took it in for replacement brake cables!

image

So, reader, today I ordered the Specialized Rockhopper 2014 Comp from Evans. Princely sum? 650 GBP.  I did save 200 GBP on RRP and my wonderful wife allowed me to ‘cash in’ 40 GBP of Club card points (which doubled). So 650-80.

‘Please Allow 10 Days’ did have may consider the non-Comp version in order that I continue training; I also considered shelving the purchase of the new bike, opting for quick repairs to a bike I have known and loved for over three years (amazing how you become attached, and have that ‘six sense’ with the bike). But it’s time for some hydraulic disc brakes, and a better spec of gears will be an investment.

I’m still planning on the 100K, but it’s looking awfully tight: 4 – 6 weeks of training. And I still need to reccy ‘Misty Law’ and the ‘Inverkip Loop’.

Leave a Reply

