Driving Rain

“Under an hour.”  I certainly hoped so.

The climb up and over Devol Road was windy and the driving rain was painful – I could hardly look up ahead of me and I found myself relying on my memory of the downward section of the trail.

I did think about heading home: the weather was atrocious. The rain was almost horizontal; the wind has me wobbling.

However, such was the power of the wind, I found myself heading into the middle gears on the B788 up to the electricity substation to take advantage of the ‘helping hand’.

I stopped to ring out my gloves on more than one occasion.

Like any endeavour, once home – despite the ice-cold fingers – I was soon bathed on that Reddy Break-esque glow that follows posr-ride. 13K in the bag; a couple of climbs.

Better than staying in.

The forecasted gales promptly arrived, and at 3.15am I thought my window panes were going to come in.

Leave a Reply

